The following article provides an overview of how changes made in Arlo impact courses, registrations, and contacts in Moodle.
Connecting Arlo courses to Moodle courses
An Arlo course can only be mapped to one course in Moodle. Once the initial mapping is completed in Moodle, the Arlo course will not appear for further mapping on other Moodle courses. If the mapping to an existing Moodle course is removed, then the Arlo course will be free for mapping to another Moodle course.
However, a Moodle course can be connected to multiple Arlo courses, meaning that registrations for separate courses in Arlo can provide access to the same Moodle course.
- Learn how to connect an Arlo elearning module to a Moodle course.
- Learn how to connect an Arlo course to a Moodle course.
- Learn how to connect an Arlo template to a Moodle course.
Cancelling a course in Arlo that is connected to Moodle
When you cancel a course in Arlo, all active registrations on the course are also cancelled. When an active registration is cancelled in Arlo, the enrolment becomes inactive in Moodle and user is removed from the respective group in Moodle.
Archiving an elearning activity in Arlo that is connected to Moodle
Archiving an elearning in Arlo, won't change the status for registrations in Moodle. The registrations still remain enrolled in Moodle and can continue to access Moodle course.
If you don't want users to have access to the course in Moodle, you will need to remove the Arlo enrolment method from the course in Moodle or cancel their registrations (if you don't wish to keep their registration records active).
Registration is created in Arlo
A new registration in Arlo creates an enrolment to the course in Moodle, but only when the registration is in the Approved, In Progress, or Completed state. Registrations in the Awaiting approval state are not created in Moodle.
Registration is cancelled in Arlo
When an active registration is cancelled in Arlo, the enrolment becomes inactive in Moodle and user is removed from the respective group in Moodle.
Registration is transferred in Arlo
When a registration is transferred from one course to another, the initial enrolment will be inactive and the user will be removed from the group in Moodle. A new enrolment is created in Moodle for the new course (if mapping exists for the new course) and the relevant Moodle course welcome notification is sent to the user.
Registrant is changed in Arlo
When a registrant is changed in Arlo (swapped to another contact), the Moodle enrolment is not automatically changed to the new contact's details. In order to swap a registrant in Arlo, you will need to either:
- Cancel the existing registration and create a new one.
- Change the registrant in Arlo and then manually change the registrant in Moodle to match.
Arlo enrolment removed in Moodle (with registration in Arlo still active)
If an enrolment is removed in Moodle for users whose enrolment method is Arlo enrolment, the removal will only last until the registrations are synchronised with Arlo (at the next running of the registrations scheduled task). You need to cancel the registration in Arlo to remove access to the Moodle course, or you can remove users from a group manually and that user will not be added back to the group during the next synchronisation.
Arlo registrant already exists as a Moodle user
If an Arlo registrant's name and email address match those of an existing Moodle user, they will be matched together and the enrolment will be made against the existing Moodle user.
Arlo registrant does not exist as a Moodle user
If the Arlo registrant does not already exist in Moodle, a new Moodle user will be created.
Merging contacts in Arlo
Wherever possible, avoid merging contacts in Arlo if either of the contacts are registered on a Moodle course as this may cause Moodle sync issues. Keep both contact records and archive the record that is not the primary record.