The following article is a list of frequently asked questions about effectively using Arlo's Campaign Monitor integration.
There are a few reasons why the subscriber numbers and details may differ on your Campaign Monitor list to Arlo's list.
Duplicates merged in Arlo but not Campaign Monitor
Arlo sends updates on contacts to Campaign Monitor, but when you merge two contacts in Arlo, only one of the subscribers will be updated and not merged, meaning you will have two subscribers for one contact in Arlo.
To merge duplicate subscribers in Campaign Monitor, follow their recommended export and import process.
We recommend merging your duplicates before setting up your Arlo - Campaign Monitor integration.
Contacts added manually in Campaign Monitor
Any contacts added (or updated) manually in Campaign Monitor are not sent through to Arlo, as this part of the integration is only one way.
We recommend you only add contacts to your subscriber list using Arlo.
Contacts unsubscribed in Campaign Monitor
Contacts who have unsubscribed, or are unsubscribed in via Campaign Monitor do not appear immediately as unsubscribed in Arlo until a change has been made on the Arlo record triggering a synchronisation. Your Arlo list will generally look larger because of this.
If the contact has previously unsubscribed and has re-subscribed, they will still be on Suppression List in Campaign Monitor meaning they will also not be added to new Campaign Lists. Contacts will need to be removed from Suppression Lists in Campaign Monitor.
To clean up your database and mark suppressed contacts in Campaign Monitor as unsubscribed in Arlo, you could export your unsubscribed subscribers and import them as un-subscribers in to Arlo:
- Export your unsubscribed subscribers as a CSV file (select to download the first name, last name, and email address).
- Import the contacts in to Arlo. They will be updated in Arlo as non-subscribers.
Contacts' bulk emails setting set to Do not allow
- If the contact's Bulk emails field is set to Do not allow, they will not be synced to Campaign Monitor.
In Campaign Monitor, each lists subscribers adds to your total subscribers number, even when the same contacts are across multiple lists. This means you may be paying more for Campaign Monitor based on contacts duplicated across different lists.
Arlo's Newsletter subscribers feature connects with only one list in Campaign Monitor, helping you to keep your subscriber numbers down. However, if you create lists in Arlo's Campaign Management feature and send the list across to Campaign Monitor, this adds a new list.
For example, Felicity Merrington is a newsletter subscriber in Arlo, which is connected with the newsletter list in Campaign Monitor. If you then create a campaign in Arlo in which Felicity is also a prospect, when sending the campaign list to Campaign Monitor, Felicity will take up two subscriber records in Campaign Monitor.
Use segmenting in Campaign Monitor
Within your newsletter list in Campaign Monitor, you can add segments that can be defined as recipients for a campaign, without having to create a new list. You can create segments based on:
Subscriber details (in Campaign Monitor, if included in contact/subscriber)
- Email address - e.g. email address contains...
- Name - e.g. name contains
Custom fields (from Arlo)
- Newsletter Topics
If you use a newsletter segment list your contacts in Arlo will not be updated to say they have been included in the campaign, so we only recommend using segmenting in Campaign Monitor for your newsletters or in any case where you don't need the campaign recorded against your contacts.
Delete old lists in Campaign Monitor
To keep your subscriber numbers down, we recommend that once you don't need a list in Campaign Monitor, e.g. the campaign has been sent, that you delete the list. This will prevent duplicated subscribers in your lists from adding to the total subscriber numbers.
If you delete a contact/s (via Campaign Monitor) they will be removed from the newsletter list and added into the deleted group for that list, however when Arlo syncs with Campaign Monitor, it will detect the user is subscribed in Arlo and remove the contact from the deleted group (resubscribing them).
For this reason, Arlo recommends against using the Deleted option in Campaign Monitor.