This article explains the processes used with the Xero integration when an order/credit note is connected to Xero, such as the addition or removal of payments, and the management of cancellations and refunds.
Once orders are exported to Xero, you can easily view the order in Xero by clicking View in Xero.
Once an order has been exported to Xero, you cannot manage payments for it from within Arlo. Xero is the source of truth and all payments must be added or removed within Xero. Xero synchronises payments back to Arlo automatically every hour.
To remove payments that have been synchronised against an order from Xero you need to remove the payment in Xero.
- Open the Orders menu item.
- Find and select the order you wish to remove payments for.
- Click View in Xero.
- In Xero, click Less Payment on the payment you wish to delete.
- In the Options menu, select Remove and Redo.
- In the Arlo order, click Sync payments.
- The details of the payments to be removed will be displayed. Press Synchronise with Xero.
- After payments have been recorded, you can manually synchronise payments by opening the Xero Integration Settings page and clicking Synchronise Payments, or alternatively, by opening an order and clicking Sync payments. You only need to do this if you don't want to wait for the automated synchronisation.
- You can view all synchronised payments from Xero in the order payment log.
- If you need to void an order completely, you can cancel it in Arlo, then mark it as void in Xero.
- If you need to cancel registrations and reduce the balance due on an order or process a refund for a cancellation you can generate a credit note/refund and export it to Xero.
- If you need to process a refund or apply a credit balance to an alternate order, see how to process refunds on paid orders.
If you want to manage payments and credit notes against orders in Arlo, instead of Xero, you can disconnect the order from Xero.
- You can disconnect an order from Xero at any time by clicking Disconnect.
If you have disconnected an order, and you add payments to it in Arlo, when you reconnect it to Xero, Arlo will remove any payment lines that do not exist in Xero, as Xero is the source of truth for payments.
For example, if you mark an order as paid in Arlo, but that payment line does not exist in Xero when you reconnect it, the payment line will be deleted from the order in Arlo.