The following article explains the process for managing enrolments in Moodle when one of the associated contacts has been merged in Arlo (and had an existing Moodle enrolment), or there is an existing Moodle enrolment when the Arlo enrolment is created. Learn more about merging contacts in Arlo.
The following table outlines what happens to each contact type when a merge in Arlo has taken place (or an enrolment is created in Arlo, and already exists in Moodle).
The merged contact is the one deleted from Arlo once a merge has taken place, while the remaining contact is the contact who remains in the CRM.
Which contacts have access to a Moodle course?
(The merged contact is the one deleted from Arlo once a merge has taken place)
The merged contact's Moodle account is updated to use the remaining contact's details (username).
If the remaining contact has a Moodle account (but is not linked to any active courses), it will be suspended.
(The remaining contact is the contact who remains in the CRM in Arlo)
The remaining contact can continue to log in to Moodle using their existing credentials.
If the merged contact has a Moodle account (but is not linked to any active courses), it will be suspended.
(If you complete a merge in Arlo and both contacts had access to Moodle, or a Moodle enrolment already exists outside of Arlo and new Arlo enrolment was created)
You can choose which Moodle account should remain active and which should be suspended.
When an Arlo enrolment to a Moodle course has not been successful, Moodle will provide an admin notification and an email notification so you can correct the problem. If you would prefer not to receive an email notification, you can disable these in Moodle in your notification preferences by turning off the Administrator notifications of integration issues, as these are sent each time a synchronization happens and an error is detected.
- Click View full notification.
- Click the report link to see a list of all unsuccessful enrolments.
- To resolve an unsuccessful enrolment, click Contact merge report.
- Click Unenrol from Arlo linked courses on the contact you would like to unenrol to resolve the error. You will be provided with the course activity for each user, so that you can be sure you are unenrolling the correct one (e.g. the one with no activity).
If the user you want to enrol has activity on the course and you cannot see the option to unenrol the user, you will need to visit the Arlo plugin configuration page and tick the setting Allow ability to unenrol users who have accessed Arlo enrolled courses.
- Confirm the un-enrolment and then you can re-attempt the enrolment of the remaining record, by pressing Re-attempt enrolment on the Unsuccessful enrolments list page.
If you are using a manual enrolment plugin with Arlo, there may be courses which have no Arlo enrolment flag. These will need to manually un-enrolled via the course enrolment methods page in Moodle before you will be able to re-attempt enrolment of the remaining Arlo record.